Thursday, February 6, 2014

Four Versions of the Ten Commandments: The Second Commandment

This is the second in a series of blogs that presents four versions of the Ten Commandments (based on Exodus 20). Each blog presents a commandment from the sources listed in chronological order below:

(1) Rabbinic Judaism (200 CE)
(2) Catholicism (325 CE)
(3) Protestantism (16th century CE)
(4) Biblical Heritage Center (analysis completed in 2014 CE)

The Second Commandment

Rabbinic Judaism

. You shall have no other gods but me.


You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.


. You shall not make unto you any graven images.

Biblical Heritage Center

You shall not make for yourself a graven image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth.

Don’t keep this information to yourself – share it with others. The next time someone says something about the Ten Commandments, be sure to ask which version.

CLICK HERE for to see the blog on the First Commandment.

Please post your comments on this blog or email them to me by clicking here.

Shalom & Be Empowered!

Please let us know you like this blog by going to our Facebook page by clicking here and – “Like” it & “Sharing” it with others

Our work is completely funded by the gifts of individuals. If you find our work useful and valuable, take time to contribute by clicking here.  Your consideration is greatly appreciated.

No comments:

Post a Comment